brandon.

The Japanese obsession with The Beatles’ 1s album

with one comment

1
My Nova branch is in a mall. And whoever says that Japanese people aren’t having enough children, they’re not looking in the suburbs. I teach a crapload of kids everyday. There are tons of babies being schleped around at the Apita mall in Chiryu, where I work. But I digress. There is a clothing store behind my branch, called Comme Ca Ism. It’s a trendy, Expressish kind of store, and I actually dropped over 10,000 yen there on a shirt and two ties there yesterday. It’s a cool shop, but, like my favorite hamburger joint, Hickorey, plays The Beatles’ 1s album, on loop, everday, with no change. And at the same time, the mall is playing Beatles music throughout the regular mall area. So, if you teach a lesson in the voice lesson room or rooms 7 or 8, you hear The Beatles blaring throughout the lesson. So much, that I start bobbing my head and singing to myself while my students are talking. Sometimes they catch me and they giggle, because they have to understand that it’s impossible for me not to get caught up in the music. We call this, “The Beatles Room.”

Written by Brandon

September 6, 2006 at 10:56 pm

Posted in Daily Posts, Japan

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think every time I went to Hickory’s I sat in the same exact chair, no joke. Combine that with the music and it’s really weird.

    Ben

    September 8, 2006 at 12:35 am


Leave a Reply

